2011 GB Women’s Squad Announced

With more than 22 athletes to choose from, there have been some tough decisions for GB Women’s Head Coach Audrey Cooper to select a squad of 16 for the upcoming Summer programme. With 20 athletes having played professionally abroad over the the last 9 months as well as the inclusion of home based players and upcoming younger players, competition for places was higher than ever.

Having seen the majority of the European based players in action during the winter season and knowing they would not join the programme until the second week at the earliest due to club commitments, Cooper took the opportunity to look at some new faces during the first 7 days of training including 3 athletes from the Volleyball England National Academy (Hannah Carey, Paige Nelmes & Meg Viggars).

Making the squad for the first time is middle blocker Ciara Michel, at 1m95 and having had a successful season with GB setter Lucy Wicks playing for Alemannia Aachen in the German Bundesliga, she will be a great addition to the squad and has made competition for places in the middle position even harder.

Another new face is 17 year old setter Meg Viggars who has impressed at the VE National Academy and in the domestic scene. She backed this up with a solid 2 weeks trial period and has been rewarded with a place in the 16, a great achievement for Meg.

Cooper comments: “It was probably the toughest selection we have had over the last 4 years and that is a credit to the girls and a great sign for British Volleyball. There were some very close decisions and for those athletes that have just missed out, the door is not closed. It is now up to them to prove that they are worthy of a place in the squad before the 2012 season. As for the 16 selected, I am really looking forward to working with the squad over the Summer.”

The chosen squad of 16 for the 2011 season is:
2. Lucy Wicks
3. Nicola Osborne
4. Rachel Laybourne
5. Rachel Newton
6. Jenn Taylor
7. Maria Bertelli (Libero)
8. Rachel Bragg
9. Jo Morgan
10. Lynne Beattie (Captain)
11. Meg Viggars
12. Lizzie Reid
14. Victoria Palmer
15. Stacey O’Connor
17. Janine Sandell
18. Grace Carter
19. Ciara Michel

Two reserves are also selected (Jennifer Thom and Jilliane Goulet) who will not join the squad on a permanent basis but will be invited to join the squad when required.

This entry was posted in Team and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.